SEOUL VINCINITY TOUR
Pick up & Drop off
Tour guide, transportation, lunch and entrance fees. included
In Joseon Dynasty, Ganghwa used to be the shelter for refuge during Jeong-Myo-Horan and Byeong-Ja-Horan (name of battles), and at the end of Joseon Era, Ganghwa witnessed the tragic history of Daewongun's Seclusion policy (national isolation policy) and Catholic suppression, which led to the French Battleship Incidents, Byeon-In-Yangyo and Sin-Mi-Yangyo (name of battles), as well as Unyangho Incident leading to the Treaty of Ganghwado.
This place is site of the royal palace where the Goryeo people had resisted vigorously against Mongolian invasion for 39 years. On account of strong recommendation of generals, King Gojong moved his capital to Ganghwado with the advantage of natural and strategically point of view. Upon withdrawal of Mongolian forces, the capital was moved back to Gaeseong after the peace treaty with the Mongol concluded. Ganghwado castle was once conquered by the force of Ch’ing dynasty of China during Byeongja-Horan war in 1637.
As one of the representative memorial services it is appointed as Historical Site number 137 and dates back to the Bronze Age. It used vast stone measuring 710cm in length, 260cm in height, and 550cm in width. Its formation is representative of the northern Dolmen and is used for detailed research on ancient history. At the Australia Keynes 24th UNESCO World Heritage, Ganghwa dolmen was appointed as world heritage together with the Gochang and Hwasun dolmens in November 29th, 2000.
Gwangseongbo's outer castle wall built during Goryeo era was repaired in the 10th year of King Gwanghae of Joseon (1618), and Gwangseongbo was installed as a military camp in the 9th year of King Hyojong (1658). The outposts of Yongdu, Odu, Hwado, and Gwangseong belonging to Gwangseongbo fortress were built in the 5th year of king Sukjong (1679) In the reconstruction of the castle in the king Yeongjo installed a sign board reading "Anhaeru" to the gate tower (1745). It is a site of brave and patriotic contribution at the cost of warriors’ lives in the two battles against foreign invasions of French and America; many warriors devoted themselves to their country.
Jeondeungsa Temple is an old temple situated on Mt. Jeongjoksan. Monk Adohwasang of Goguryeo established this temple, and when Queen Jeonhwa during the reign of King Chungryeol (reign 1274~1308) donated a jade lantern to the temple, it was renamed Jeondeungsa Temple. At Jeondeungsa Temple, there are many attractions to see, including the Daeungjeon main building, and the Yaksajeon building. Inside Daeungjeon there is a peculiar statue of an ugly woman with a naked woman under her, and another figure above the pillar.