Day1 : Hotel (Seoul) → Mt. Seorak National Park → Gwongeumseong Fortress (Cable Car) → Shinheung Temple → Overnight (Hotel)
Day2 : Hotel Breakfast → Daepo Port → Naksan Temple → Naksan Beach → Hotel (Seoul)
Also referred to as Seolsan and Seolbongsan, the mountain was named Seorak (‘Seol’ meaning ‘snow’ and ‘Ak’ meaning ‘big mountain’) because the snow would not melt for a long time keeping the rocks in a permanent state of white. In November 1965, the Seorak Mountain district was designated as a Natural Monument preservation area. Afterwards in December 1973, it was designated as a park preservation area, and in August 1982, as a Biosphere Preservation District by UNESCO.
The park is spread across 4 cities and counties: Sokcho, Inje, Goseong and Yangyang. The highest peak is Daecheongbong; to the east is OeSeorak and to the west is NaeSeorak, which is divided again into North NaeSeorak and South NaeSeorak. North NaeSeorak is composed of Bukcheon, which flows to Ingyecheon and Baekdamcheon streams. There are numerous valleys in NaeSeorak. Follow the Baekdamcheon valley where all the streams meet and you will reach Baekdamsa Temple, which is known for its beautiful scenery. Upstream there is Gayadong valley and Suryeomdong valley, and past Yeongsiam and Mangyeongdae there is Madeungryeong ridge (1,327m) that leads to Seorakdong.
Follow Suryeomdong valley and you will reach Waryong and Ssangpok waterfalls. Further up is Bongjeongam (1,224m sea level). Once you arrive at Daecheong peak you can view the magnificent mountain range. The sunrise viewed from here is spectacular and should not be missed. South NaeSeorak directs the valley from Oknyeotang area to Hangyeryeong. Daeseung Waterfall north of Jangsudae is the most beautiful site of NaeSeorak, which is 88m high. South of Yongdaeri valley is the twelve fairy bathing spring, Oktang Falls, and Yongtang Falls, along with several other traditional relics.
Tour Course Information
Gwongeumseong is the site of a castle ruins called Mt. Seoraksan, and it is also known as Mt. Onggeumsan Castle, or Toto Castle. It is located on the steep Dol Mountain of Mt. Seoraksan Sogongwon area. It is believed to have been built by the 23rd King of the Goryeo Period (918~1392), Gojong (1213~1259 reign). It is also called Gwon-Kim Castle, as there is a legend that two generals named Gwon and Kim built the castle to avoid war.
Naksan Temple is located 4 km north of Naksan Beach, and boasts a 1,300-year history. It is a temple built by Ui-Sang, the ambassador of the 30th King of Silla Period (57 BC~AD 935), and inside there is the Seven Floor Stone Tower, Dongjong, Hongyaemun, together with several other cultural assets. It was named Naksansa Temple by Ui-Sang, at the spot where he learned the prayer “Gwansae-eumbosal” from Bosal, after he returned from studying abroad in the Chinese Dang Kingdom. It was rebuilt several times afterwards, and the current building was raised in 1953.
Since its opening in 1963, this beach, out of the other 3 beaches in Donghaean (East Coast) continues to have a great number of visitors every summer. Dense pine tree forests, 4 km of white sands, and shallow waters of 1.5m ~ 70m are characteristic of this beach.
Located on the southern most point of Sokcho are the many raw fish restaurants and dried fish shops of Daepo Port. This bustling port has become one of the most popular tourist spots for those in search of the freshest raw fish restaurants. At Daepo Port it is said that the Seorak Mountains and the East Sea are gifts from nature. The port is filled with raw fish restaurants and a live fish market containing eel, flatfish, flounder, yellowtail, and plethora of other high-end seafood. Furthermore, the abundance of local dishes that can be found lining the streets includes ojingeo sundae and Gamja Songpyeon. For raw fish lovers that are in the Sokcho area, Daepo Port is the place to be. Nearby tourist attractions include Seorak Sunrise Park and Tourism Submarine. These are all great places to stop by while visiting the Seoraksan Mountains.
Mt. Seorak National Park
Also referred to as Seolsan and Seolbongsan, the mountain was named Seorak because the snow would not melt for a long time keeping the rocks in a permanent state of white. In November 1965, the Seorak Mountain district was designated as a Natural Monument preservation area. Afterwards in December 1973, it was designated as a park preservation area, and in August 1982, as a Biosphere Preservation District by UNESCO.
Shinheungsa is a short 10min walk away from the entrance to Sogongwon. In fact, many visit because of its close proximity to Sogongwon. Sinheungsa is a temple which used to be called Hyangseongsa, built by Jajangyulsa (590~658), who traveled to famous mountains all over the nation, in Queen Jindeok’s (?~654) 6th year of reign. It was destroyed and rebuilt many times since.